Alliance Governing Board

The Alliance Governing Board (AGB) is the highest policy-making body. It consists of the four university presidents and the chairman of the International Advisory Board (IAB).

Current members of the board are:

  • Dr. Junichi Hamada became the 29th President of the University of Tokyo on April 1, 2009, after serving in a number of leadership positions, including Dean of the Interfaculty Initiative in Information Studies and Dean of the Graduate School of Interdisciplinary Information Studies in 2000-2002, and Managing Director and Executive Vice President of the University of Tokyo in 2005-2009. Dr. Hamada specializes in information law and policy,and received his BA, MA and Ph.D. all from the University of Tokyo in the field of law.
  • Ralph A. Eichler, born 1947, studied Physics at ETH Zurich. He did his PhD-thesis at the SIN (Swiss Institute for Nuclear Research). After research positions in USA and Germany he was elected associate professor in 1983 and since 1993 he is full professor for Experimental Physics at the Institute of Particle Physics of ETH Zurich.
    1995 – 1997 he additionally chaired an international collaboration of 400 researchers at DESY, Hamburg. In 1998, Ralph Eichler was elected Deputy Director and in July 2002 Director of the Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen.
    Since September 1, 2007 he is President at ETH Zurich.
  • Susan Hockfield, President of MIT
  • Karin Markides, President of Chalmers