International Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board (IAB) is comprised of prestigious leaders from academia, civil society, government and the private sector who strongly support the AGS approach in research and education. In addition to the generous financial support of many of the members, the IAB provides the AGS with perspectives and advice from the external world.

The board members are:

AGS University Presidents:

  • Ralph Eichler, President of ETH Zurich (Chairman of AGB in 2009)
  • Susan Hockfield, President of MIT
  • Junichi Hamada, President of The University of Tokyo
  • Karin Markides, President of Chalmers


  • Hans Peter Fricker, Chief Executive Officer of WWF, Switzerland
  • Lars G. Josefsson, Chief Executive Officer of Vattenfall AB
  • Heinz Karrer, Chief Executive Officer of Axpo Holding
  • Haruyoshi Kumura, Managing Directorof Nissan Science Foundation
  • Kazuo Ogura, President of the Japan Foundation
  • Dan Sten Olsson, Chief Executive Officer of Stena AB
  • Motoyuki Ono, Director General of The Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
  • Mutsutake Otsuka, Chairman of East Japan Railway Company
  • Hiroyuki Yoshikawa, President of National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology